This article was updated on March 04th, 2021 to show the current candidates and we removed candidates that did not file for paperwork.

An overly crowded race occurs on May 1 when Texas holds a special election for the late U.S. Rep. Ron Wright, R-Arlington, in the 6th congressional seat. 

The race has at least 11 candidates so far, and that number could grow since the deadline is March 3. All candidates will be on the same ballot. If no candidate receives over 50 percent of the vote, it will proceed to a runoff between the two candidates with the two highest vote shares. If a runoff is required, it will take place no earlier than May 24, 2021.

Republican Candidates

  • Susan Wright, the wife of Rep. Ron Wright, is the top choice.  According to her website, “Susan made the decision to dedicate her life to public service through serving her neighbors in Tarrant County. Susan served as District Director for Rep. Bill Zedler (TX-HD-96) and his successor Rep. David Cook (TX-HD-96). As District Director, Susan has led both State Representative’s constituent service efforts, connecting citizens to their government, and to the core services all Texans need.” You can find her on Facebook and Twitter.
  • Republican Rep. Jake Ellzey from Waxahachie faced Ron Wright in the 2018 Republican primary runoff for the congressional seat and lost by four percentage points.
  • Brian Harrison, the former Trump chief of staff at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services from Ellis County, has thrown his hat in the race.
  • Michael Ballantine
  • Sery Kim: the former Trump Small Business Administration official and Republican strategist. Her theme is “Open Schools, Open Small Business, Open Texas” “Kim is the daughter of Korean immigrants who were janitors in the district where she’s running. Prior to joining the Trump administration at the Department of Health and Human Services, she was a lawyer at a Texas law firm. Kim, who’s also freelanced as a lifestyle blogger, finished college in two years and graduated from the University of Texas at Austin School of Law at age 23.”
  • Mike Egan, an Army veteran and former Green Beret who earned two Bronze Stars, has also filed an FEC filing to run for election for the seat.
  • John Anthony Castro is an international tax attorney and a 2020 primary challenger to U.S. Sen. John Cornyn. He only got 5% of the vote in the race with Cornyn.
  • Dan Rodimer filed paperwork right before the deadline. He ran in Nevada in the last term.
  • Travis Rodermund
  • Jenny Garcia Sharon
  • Michael Wood

Democrat and 3rd Party Candidates

  • Jana Lynne Sanchez
  • Phil Gray (Libertarian)
  • Matt Hinterlong
  • Tammy Allison
  • Shawn Lassiter is a nonprofit education leader in Fort Worth. Lassiter previously ran for the Fort Worth City Council.
  • Manual Richard Salazar III
  • Patrick Moses
  • Chris Suprun
  • Adrian Mizher (Independent)
  • Lydia Bean, the Democratic nominee last year against state Rep. Matt Krause, R-Fort Worth
  • Matthew Hinterlong of Dallas
  • Daryl J Eddings Sr
  • Brian K. Stephenson

In 2012 the district voted Romney (57.9 to 40.8). In 2016 they voted for Trump (54.2 to 41.9) and voted again for Trump in 2020 (50.8 to 47.8). The district has been leaning democratic according to the last few presidential elections. However, Democrats did focus on this seat in the 2020 race and still came up short.